James Nicoll Reviews

Home > Reviews > By Contributor

Reviews by Contributor: Jones, Diana Wynne (14)

Get The Party Started

Deep Secret  (Magid, volume 1)

By Diana Wynne Jones  

2 Feb, 2018

Twelve by Diana Wynne Jones


1997’s Deep Secret is the first of two novels in Diana Wynne Jones’ Magid series.

Through no fault of his own, magid Rupert Venables is drawn into two pressing succession problems. The first problem is to find a magid trainee. The former head magid has died (well, he’s dead but not exactly gone; such is the nature of magids). Rupert is now the senior magid and needs an apprentice and future successor. The second problem is finding the true heir to the Koryfonic Empire, hidden away by the previous, rather paranoid, emperor. 

It’s no use asking the emperor himself: Timos IX is very sincerely, very thoroughly dead. So are Timos’ friends and confidants, who might have known where the heir had been stashed. The bomb that reduced Timos IX to vapour was very large. 

Rupert decides backburner the question of the missing heir and focus on the quest to find an apprentice and head-magid-to-be. That should at least be straightforward. 

Read more ➤

Cut You Like The Tiny Slivers Of Glass

Howl’s Moving Castle  (Howl, volume 1)

By Diana Wynne Jones  

5 Jan, 2018

Twelve by Diana Wynne Jones


1986’s Howl’s Moving Castle is the first book in Diana Wynne Jones’ Howl series. 

Life in Ingary is a faerie tale affair, as its inhabitants well know. How wonderful for Martha Hatter! As the youngest of three sisters, she is surely destined for fame, wealth, and a perfect marriage. 

It is considerably less wonderful for Sophie Hatter, the oldest of the three sisters. Everyone knows the oldest child will have at best an unremarkable life — if they are lucky. The oldest might be more likely to suffer a grim fate, which will serve to cast the youngest’s destiny in a brighter light. They might even, as Sophie does, find themselves the target of a curse that by rights should have been cast on a younger sister.

Read more ➤

Wish You Were Here

The Homeward Bounders

By Diana Wynne Jones  

22 Apr, 2017

Special Requests


1981’s The Homeward Bounders is a standalone science fantasy novel by Diana Wynne Jones.

Protagonist Jamie’s unremarkable life ended the day he stumbled across Them playing games with human destiny. Luckily for Jamie, the rules of the game include provisions for pieces who know too much, as Jamie does. Jamie was discarded from the game, consigned to wander between realities as a Bounder until he could find his way back home.

Read more ➤