James Nicoll Reviews

Home > Reviews > By Date

Reviews from August 2019 (21)

Through the Dark, Through the Door

Sultana’s Dream

By Rokeya Sakhawat Hossain  

27 Aug, 2019

Miscellaneous Reviews


Rokeya Sakhawat Hossain’s 1905 Sultana’s Dream is a feminist utopian novella. It was originally published in The Indian Ladies Journal.

A sultana muses on the condition of women in Calcutta, the city in which she lives. When a woman she takes for an old friend invites her for a walk, the sultana goes with her. It soon becomes clear the sultana has misunderstood the situation. 

Read more ➤

Just a Soul That’s Changing Its Shape

The Shattered Stars

By Richard S. McEnroe  

22 Aug, 2019

Big Hair, Big Guns!


Richard S. McEnroe’s 1984 The Shattered Stars is a standalone (ish) SF novel which takes place in McEnroe’s Far Stars and Future Times setting.

Moses Callahan is the proud owner of the independent trader Wild Goose, which is another way of saying he is a cash-short, desperate man pushed into an economic corner by larger, richer concerns who can afford ships with up-to-date tech. Just the sort of captain who might be greedy enough that he wouldn’t examine closely a chance to earn some quick cash. 


Read more ➤

So Dependable

The Affair of the Mysterious Letter

By Alexis Hall  

21 Aug, 2019

Special Requests

1 comment

Alexis Hall’s 2019 The Affair of the Mysterious Letter is a standalone fantasy mystery. 

Wounded in the war against the Empress of Nothing, Captain John Wyndham returns not to Ey, the straitlaced home of his youth, but to his college town, the cosmopolitan city of Kelathra-Ven. Despite years spent away at the front, John is at heart still a small-town boy. 

He ends up rooming with the flamboyantly decadent sorcerer(ess) Shaharazad Haas. Haas appreciates Wyndham for his placid toleration of Haas’ eccentricities. 

Read more ➤

Feeling the Chill

Icerigger  (Icerigger Trilogy, volume 1)

By Alan Dean Foster  

18 Aug, 2019

Because My Tears Are Delicious To You


Alan Dean Foster’s 1974 Icerigger is the first volume in the Icerigger Trilogy. It is set in Foster’s Humanx Commonwealth. 

Interstellar salesman Ethan Frome Fortune planned to visit the desolate iceworld Tran-ky-ky just long enough to sell some knickknacks. Instead, he stumbled over a kidnapping in progress. Fortune’s inopportune appearance was only the first thing that went wrong with the kidnappers’ plans. 

One shuttle crash later and Fortune and his companions are trapped on Tran-ky-ky. The wrong side of Tran-ky-ky, thousands of kilometers from the only Commonwealth base on the planet… 

Read more ➤

Dragonfly Out In The Sun

Fiyah Summer 2019

By Troy L. Wiggins & DaVaun Sanders  

17 Aug, 2019

Doing What the WFC Cannot Do


Fiyah Summer 2019 is the eleventh issue of the Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction. The cover credits Troy L. Wiggins and DaVaun Sanders, but the full masthead is: 

Executive Editors: Troy L. Wiggins + DaVaun Sanders + Brandon O’Brien

Acquiring Editors: Brent Lambert + Danny Lore + Kaleb Russell + Eboni J. Dunbar 

Art Direction + Layout: LeKesha Lewis 

Cover Artwork by Seth Brown 

Fiyah often has themed issues. This issue is an exception to that rule. 

Read more ➤

Straight On To Morning

To Be Taught, if Fortunate

By Becky Chambers  

15 Aug, 2019

Miscellaneous Reviews


To Be Taught, if Fortunate is a standalone hard-SF novella from Becky Chambers. 

Flight engineer Ariadne O’Neill and mission specialists Elena Quesada-Cruz, 

Jack Vo, and Chikondi Daka have been dispatched aboard the OCA spacecraft Merian to the red dwarf star Zhenyi (BA-921), just which is a mere fourteen light-years from Sol. 

Faster than light drives do not exist and neither does terraforming. Instead, the explorers must depend on somaforming, a technologically induced metamorphosis that will adapt them to the worlds they visit. 

Read more ➤