James Nicoll Reviews

Home > Reviews > By Contributor

Reviews by Contributor: Hughes, Monica (2)

Written on the Wind

Sandwriter  (Sandwriter, book 1)

By Monica Hughes 

26 Jun, 2019

Special Requests

1 comment

Monica Hughes’ 1985 Sandwriter is the first entry in her Sandwriter duology. 

Princess Antia of Kamalant has led a pampered life. Her parents are dead (of an accident, it is said) but she has been carefully raised by King Rangor (her uncle) and Queen Sankath (her aunt). Her immediate retinue includes doting nurse Nan and tutor Eskoril (whom Antia finds most attractive). Her childhood has been pleasant. 

Now the bill for that childhood has come due. 

Read more ➤

So Said The Lighthouse Keeper

The Keeper of the Isis Light  (Isis, book 1)

By Monica Hughes 

20 Aug, 2017

Because My Tears Are Delicious To You


1980’s The Keeper of the Isis Light is the first volume in Monica Hughes’ Isis Trilogy.

Olwen Pendennis has been the keeper of the Isis FTL beacon ever since she was an infant, an infant orphaned by calamity on distant Isis. For her, life with no human companions is perfectly normal. After all, she has her wise robot Guardian to advise and keep watch over her, her amiable but formidable-looking Hairy Dragon Hobbit for company, and an entire planet to call her own.

On her tenth birthday — sixteenth by Earth years — her life changes forever. 

Read more ➤