James Nicoll Reviews

Home > Reviews > By Contributor

Reviews by Contributor: Wilson, Robert Anton (2)

And No-one’s Quite Certain Whose Play It Is

The Illuminatus Trilogy

By Robert Shea & Robert Anton Wilson  

23 Jun, 2019

Because My Tears Are Delicious To You


Three 1975 novels (The Eye in the Pyramid, The Golden Apple, and Leviathan) together comprise Robert Shea and Robert Anton Wilson’s Illuminatus Trilogy.

New York Detectives Saul Goodman and Barney Muldoon are assigned to investigate a bombing. Someone has attacked the office of a left-wing magazine, Confrontation. The detectives soon discover that their case may broaden to include tracing a missing person: editor Joe Malik. 

Malik left notes that greatly confuse the two detectives. Malik’s paranoid ramblings document a world secretly run by a cabal known as the Illuminati. The ramblings are self-contradictory. More importantly, they give no hint as to Malik’s current location. 

Meanwhile, in an entirely different part of the world.… 

Read more ➤