James Nicoll Reviews

Home > Reviews > By Contributor

Reviews by Contributor: Harrison, Harry (3)

Open the Door

Astounding: John W. Campbell Memorial Anthology

 Edited by Harry Harrison 

5 Apr, 2020

Because My Tears Are Delicious To You


Astounding: John W. Campbell Memorial Anthology, edited by Harry Harrison, is a memorial anthology in honour of the late John W. Campbell, Jr. John W. Campbell was arguable the most influential SF editor of his day. He discovered and published many authors who are still read and loved today. He is also known for his quirks and foibles (such as his embrace of Dianetics) and his troglodytic (even by the standards of the backward era in which he lived) attitudes toward many social issues. 

All the authors who contributed to this volume were members of Campbell’s pool of authors. All are men. 

Read more ➤

Season For Battle Wounds

The Deathworld Trilogy

By Harry Harrison  

15 Sep, 2019

Because My Tears Are Delicious To You


Harry Harrison’s The Deathworld Trilogy consists of three works: 1960’s Deathworld, 1964’s Deathworld 2, and 1968’s Deathworld 3. Alternate titles: Deathworld, The Ethical Engineer, and The Horse Barbarians. All were serialized in the same magazine, which was known as Astounding when Deathworld was published and Analog when the other two came out. 

(The Deathworld series is much longer. More on that later.) 

Read more ➤